Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon

Updated: February 13, 2011

Transformers: Dark of the Moon is scheduled for release on July 1, 2011. It is the sequel to Transformers and Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen featuring the actors Shia LaBeouf (Sam Witwicky), Josh Duhamel (Major William Lennox), Tyrese Gibson (Chief Robert Epps), John Turturro (Agent Seymour Simmons) and Ramón Rodríguez (Leo Spitz) with Peter Cullen returning as the voice of Optimus Prime, and Hugo Weaving as the voice of Megatron. Megan Fox will not be returning in this sequel and was replaced by Victoria’s Secret model Rosie Huntington-Whiteley as Carly, Sam’s new love interest.

The Plot

The Autobots, led by Optimus Prime, are back in action, taking on the evil Decepticons, who are determined to avenge their defeat in 2009’s Transformers Revenge of the Fallen. In this new movie, the Autobots and Decepticons become involved in a perilous space race between the U.S. and Russia, and once again human Sam Witwicky has to come to the aid of his robot friends. There’s new characters too, including a new villain in the form of Shockwave, a longtime “Transformers” character who rules Cybertron while the Autobots and Decepticons battle it out on Earth.

*image taken from Hasbro